To help create a more peaceful world, the mission of PeaceMaker Minnesota is to help schools be safer places, free from bullying and harassment, and to help youth learn positive relational skills like empathy, respect, cooperation and how to resolve conflicts peacefully.


Teacher Team Support and Recognition Services Expand

 Our Teacher Team Support and Recognition Service helped 86 teachers from 7 schools bring bullying prevention education to their students last year -- 4 more than the previous year. The service also awarded funding to 4 schools recognized as Positive Behavioral Interventions and Supports (PBIS) Exemplary Schools by the State of Minnesota.

The 86 teachers facilitated the Olweus Bullying Prevention Program or taught the Second Step Social-Emotional Learning (SEL) Program. As evidence-based programs, research indicates that both are effective at reducing bullying and aggressive behaviors in youth

Olweus Program lessons, delivered in classroom meetings, include topics like:

  • What do we do when cliques won’t add new people?
  • What is cyber-bullying?
  • Stepping up and stepping in: bystander behavior
  • Be true to yourself: peer pressure

Second Step Social-Emotional Learning (SEL) Program helps teachers build a safe, supportive learning environment for students by fostering a foundation of empathy. Second Step SEL helps students learn how to manage emotions, make sound decisions, and focus through age appropriate games, activities, and media.

Positive Behavioral Interventions and Supports (PBIS) school teams establish outcomes relating to students’ academic and social behavior, systems that support staff efforts, practices that support student success, and data to guide decision-making. PBIS is a state-initiated project, providing districts and individual schools throughout Minnesota with resources to promote improvement in student behavior across the entire school, especially for students with challenging social behaviors. 

We are grateful to Tradition Companies for their support of our Teacher Team Support and Recognition Service. As a lead contributor, they helped to expand participation in the service.  

Our congratulations go out to the schools and teachers implementing bullying prevention programs and to the schools and staff teams for being recognized as PBIS Exemplary Schools by the State of Minnesota.

Castle Elementary School:  Angela Hilpisch, Emily Garry, Emily Toot, Jammie Klingsporn, Kristen Blissenbach, Lynn Berens, Maria Lofstuen, and Susan Rensted

Cowern Elementary: Angela Redman, Debra Biddick, Emily Knudsen, Jennifer Quinn, Julie Swanson, Kari Aase, Kayla Finn, Kelly Marette, Laura Corkish, Lisa Torgerson, Mary Glagavs, Megan de los Reyes, Michelle Schneider, and Sara Buffie

Highland Catholic: Corrie Schmidt, Danny Welle, Katie Gustafson, Ken Backe, Laresa Fitzgerald, Lisa Svoboda, M. Skold, Mlaskoch & Keys, Molly Nelson, Molly Stucker, Rachel Ogard, Sarah Boos, and Sarah Hickel

Little Mountain Elementary: Amy Clark, Amy Meierhofer, Becky Arthur, Brent Rassier, Bri Bigalke, Cathy LaJoie, Deb Patrick, Gail Grieme, Heather Manelli, Jana Cordell, Jen Vogl, Joy White, Kari Hanson, Kim Nygaard, Lee Tracy,  Liz Barnes, Melissa Gaulrapp, Michelle King, Michelle Maynard, Mike Bekius, Nicole Sawatzke, Sarah Vagle, Summer St. George, Tanya Schmitz, and Tracy Voller

Pinewood Elementary: Danielle Smith, Jennifer Sellner, Kelly Braken, Kelsey Johnson, and Marcy Beal

St. Charles Catholic: Anne Flynn, Hannah Meidl, Jennifer Villella, Kristen Noll, Laura Bilski, Marilyn Seashore, Paulette Krawczyk, Mike Hartnett, and Mark Kenney

St. John's Catholic: Bridget Troxel, Diane Ptak, Felicia Villafan, Jeanette Peterson, Jeanne Dompierre, Jennifer Carroll, Maria Koskie, Mary Rose Edholm, Mary Wraneschetzm, Stephen Steffl, and Theresa Harris

Lake Park Audobon Elementary School PBIS Team: Craig Bahr, Nicole Perman, and Rebecca Rood

Cambridge Isanti Schools PBIS Team: Ann Landwehr, Cindy Paulson, Kate Goebel, Krisanne Wessel, Malissa Zabel, Margaret Boege, Mark Ziebarth, Natalie Miller, Rachel Olson, Sara Edwards, Sonia Utzman, and Trisha Roiger

Chanhassen High School PBIS Team: Amy Eidelbes, Angie Kissock, Brie NelsonChad Mattson, Chris Gallagher, Chris Nett, Erin Swoboda, and Teresa Anderson

S.G. Reinertsen Elementary School: Christina Stoa, John St. Louis, Karen Gebhart, Lindsey Ferguson,  Mary Beth Almer, Nancy Halvorson, Rachel Gladue, Shari GustafsonTara Lindberg, and Tiffany Nagel


September 19, 2019